Room to Read 2023 Gala


At Room to Read, we believe that World Change Starts with Educated Children. When children learn, they create waves of change that extend throughout their families, communities and future generations. 

On April 26, 2023, Room to Read will celebrate the next generation of changemakers — the young readers breaking the cycle of illiteracy in their families, the girls charting their chosen life paths, helping to create a more gender equal worldand the remarkable educators, caregivers and community members who support them.  

Join us to support education and its power to change the world.

Room to Read Gala 
April 26, 2023 
Gotham Hall, New York City 



Portrait of Peter Gauer with text "HONOREE"

Peter T. Grauer 
Chairman, Bloomberg 

Portrait of Frieda Pinto with text "HONOREE"

Freida Pinto
Actress, Producer and Activist


Headshot Photo of DJ Switch Ghana with text "Musical Performance" overlayed

DJ Switch Ghana
Artist and Activist

Headshots of Richie Cannata and Bernie Williams with text "Musical Performanc" overlayed

Richie Cannata Band
featuring Bernie Williams

All proceeds will support the work of Room to Read wherever the need is greatest. For table sales, sponsorships, and inquiries, please email

Live Auction Preview

To learn more, view the 2022 New York Gala video

North America Regional Board

Samantha Barry 
Susan Breyer 
Mary Byron 
Richard and Sabine Chalmers 
Ernest Chow and Gwen Hinze 
Sara Eisen and Matthew Levine 
Caryn Freiberger 
Erin and Jitendra Ganju 
Peter T. Grauer 
Lydie Hudson 
Sonny Kalsi (Chair) 
Jaideep Khanna 
Ryan Korinke and Kimberley Stafford 
Tami Lippit and Carl Huttenlocher 
Diksha and Divesh Makan 
Angel Mehta 
Kim Anstatt Morton 
Stasia Obremskey 
Dusty Philip 
Jesse Purewal 
Mythili Sankaran and Shekar Ayyar 
Vicky Tsai 
Hilary Valentine 
Frank and Leslie van Veenendaal 
Priya Venkatesh 
Susan Wojcicki and Dennis Troper 
Amy Wong 

Board of Directors

Yusuf Alireza, Board Chair 
John Lindfors, Chair-Elect 
Andrew Balls 
Mary Byron 
Mike Cannon-Brookes 
Sabine Chalmers 
Dr. Luis Crouch 
Lydie Hudson 
Carl Huttenlocher 
Sonny Kalsi 
Scott Kapnick 
Dr. Elizabeth M. King 
Dr. Geetha Murali 
Stasia Obremskey 
John Ridding 
Najoh Tita-Reid 
Vicky Tsai 
Frank van Veenendaal 
Susan Wojcicki 

Emeritus Board

Hilary Valentine, Chair 
Christopher S. Beer 
Craig Bruya 
Jerry del Missier 
Erin Ganju 
Peter T. Grauer 
Tim Koogle 
Alastair Mactaggart 
Kim Anstatt Morton 
Dr. Fernando Reimers 
Muneer A. Satter 
John Wood 

Event Partner

Financial Times Logo