Room to Read Gala


Education is the great equalizer. It is a pathway to myriad outcomes and gives us the power to complete the equation of our futures. When children learn, they lead fulfilled lives and become change-makers in their communities, transcending the circumstances they were born into. As we solve for education, we activate solutions to so many world problems — from poverty to climate change to discrimination. For students, education equals curiosity, empathy and the opportunity to reach for their dreams.

On Thursday, May 12, 2022, at the Rainbow Room in New York City, Room to Read will honor the contributions of IMC and Tatcha, as well as celebrate global champions for education equality. We invite you to join us to ensure millions of children can access their inherent right to learning and unlock all that education equals.

All proceeds will support the work of Room to Read wherever the need is greatest. For table sales, sponsorships, and inquiries, please email


Gala Honorees and Performances

Get Creative

Get Creative

Get Creative

The annual Room to Read Gala brings together leaders in the finance, tech, media, beauty and fashion, and entertainment industries to celebrate a shared passion for global change through education.

To learn more, view the 2019 New York Gala video

North America Regional Board

Samantha Barry
Susan Breyer
Mary Byron
Richard and Sabine Chalmers
Ernest Chow and Gwen Hinze
Sara Eisen and Matthew Levine
Erin and Jitendra Ganju
Caryn Freiberger
Peter T. Grauer
Lydie Hudson
Tami and Carl Huttenlocher
Sonny Kalsi
Jaideep Khanna
Ryan Korinke and Kimberley Stafford
Diksha and Divesh Makan
Angel Mehta
Kim Anstatt Morton
Stasia Obremskey
Dusty Philip
Jesse Purewal
Mythili Sankaran and Shekar Ayyar
Vicky Tsai
Pierre Towns
Hilary Valentine
Frank and Leslie van Veenendaal
Priya Venkatesh
Susan Wojcicki and Dennis Troper
Amy Wong

Board of Directors

Mary Byron, Board Chair
Yusuf Alireza, Chair-Elect
Andrew Balls
Mike Cannon-Brookes
Sabine Chalmers
Dr. Luis Crouch
Lydie Hudson
Carl Huttenlocher
Scott Kapnick
Dr. Elizabeth M. King
John Lindfors
Dr. Geetha Murali
Stasia Obremskey
John Ridding
Najoh Tita-Reid
Vicky Tsai
Frank van Veenendaal
Susan Wojcicki

Emeritus Board

Hilary Valentine: Chair
Christopher S. Beer
Craig Bruya
Jerry del Missier
Erin Ganju
Peter T. Grauer
Tim Koogle
Alastair Mactaggart
Kim Anstatt Morton
Dr. Fernando Reimers
Muneer A. Satter